Introduction: Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) is revolutionising the way individuals with disabilities experience living spaces. SDA offers tailored housing solutions that cater to diverse needs, ensuring comfort, accessibility, and independence. In this comprehensive guide, we’ll delve into the various SDA design categories, unveiling the unique features and benefits of each. Whether you’re an individual looking for the perfect home or a caregiver seeking the right living environment, this guide will empower you to understand SDA design categories.

1. High Physical Support:

The High Physical Support design category, is specifically designed for individuals with significant physical disabilities. Often there are adaptive features and technologies that make daily living tasks more manageable while fostering a sense of autonomy.

2. Fully Accessible:

The Fully Accessible design category, focuses on creating living spaces that are universally accessible. Features like wide doorways, accessible bathrooms, and adaptable layouts promote ease of movement for individuals with various mobility levels.

3. Robust:

The Robust design category caters to individuals with challenging behaviors or complex needs. These living spaces are designed to withstand wear and tear while providing a secure and supportive environment.

4. Improved Liveability:

The Improved Liveability design category aims to enhance the overall quality of life for individuals with disabilities. Features like sensory considerations, outdoor areas, and improved amenities contribute to a more enriching living experience.

5. Fully Accessible- High Physical Support:

This is the intersection of the Fully Accessible and High Physical Support design categories. These two categories combine to provide an environment that ensures accessibility and meets the needs of individuals with significant physical disabilities.

6. Specialised:

The Specialised design category caters to specific disability-related needs. Features like hoists to specialised bathroom fittings, this category is designed with precision to accommodate unique requirements.

7. Providing Choice and Flexibility:

Choice and flexibility are inportant within SDA design categories. These categories offer a spectrum of options, allowing individuals to choose housing that aligns with their specific needs, preferences, and aspirations.


The world of Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) is characterised by its diverse range of design categories, each meticulously crafted to meet the unique needs of individuals with disabilities. By understanding these categories, you’re equipped to make informed decisions that prioritise comfort, accessibility, and improved quality of life.

If you have Support Coordination in your NDIS plan and need some help contact us.