Navigating the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) can be complex, particularly when it comes to completing the Clinician Report or Part F of the NDIS Access Request Form. This crucial step involves linking the participant’s functional domains, symptoms, functional impact, and the support required. In this guide, we break down the process, focusing on each functional domain, its associated symptoms, functional impacts, and the types of support to be considered.

Functional Domain 1: Mobility and Motor Skills

Symptoms: Paranoia, Anxiety, Sensory Sensitivity, Compulsions

Functional Impact: Difficulties using public transport, leaving the house, attending activities. Mobility hindered by side effects of treatment.

Support Considered: Accompaniment for travel, provision of low-stimulus options, personal support to build confidence, provision of aids/equipment to overcome movement difficulties.

Functional Domain 2: Communication

Symptoms: Delusional Thinking, Hallucinations, Cognitive Difficulties

Functional Impact: Challenges in interpreting communication, following instructions, conversations, and understanding verbal/non-verbal cues.

Support Considered: Assistance with interactions, personal support for skill development and coaching, aids/equipment to overcome communication barriers.

Functional Domain 3: Social Interaction

Symptoms: Post-traumatic Stress, Anxiety, Cognitive Difficulties, Interfering Behaviors

Functional Impact: Difficulties initiating/responding to conversations, making friends, coping with emotions, sustaining relationships.

Support Considered: Accompaniment for social activities, personal support for skills development and motivation, behavioral support, equipment for coping.

Functional Domain 4: Learning

Symptoms: Cognitive Difficulties, Distracted Thinking, Slowed Reactions

Functional Impact: Challenges in planning, remembering, concentrating, participating in group learning.

Support Considered: Assistance for learning activities, devices to aid concentration and cognitive function.

Functional Domain 5: Self-Care

Symptoms: Cognitive Difficulties, Amotivation, Issues with Self-awareness

Functional Impact: Difficulties in personal care, grooming, self-esteem, and maintaining physical health.

Support Considered: Personal support for prompts, cues, supervision, assistance, equipment for self-care, access to healthy lifestyle activities.

Functional Domain 6: Self-Management

Symptoms: Amotivation, Cognitive Difficulties, Mood Disturbances

Functional Impact: Struggles with motivation, decision-making, organisation, and managing responsibilities.

Support Considered: Supervision, prompts, assistance with managing responsibilities, personal support for skill development and behavior management.


Completing the Clinician Report or Part F of the NDIS Access Request Form requires a thorough understanding of how functional domains, symptoms, functional impacts, and support needs are interconnected. By addressing each domain’s unique challenges and the associated support considerations, clinicians can provide a comprehensive assessment that ensures individuals receive the tailored assistance they require under the NDIS. This guide serves as a valuable resource to enhance the accuracy and effectiveness of the assessment process, ultimately benefiting participants’ access to vital support services.

Reach out to if you need any help in any way.